dphost.blogg.se

Best video games 2014
Best video games 2014















This is a 1v1 fighting game between an orange person and a yellow person, each holding swords, where you need to fight each other in a fencing tug-of-war for the honor of being consumed by the dragon that gnaws at the root of the world.īut the lore doesn’t matter. But there’s a lot more to Nidhogg than its trippy, retro look would have you believe. Everything old is new again, though, as plenty of games are now cashing in on that sense of pixel nostalgia. I suppose at this point I’m dating myself to say that I cut my gaming teeth on the graphics capabilities of the Atari 2600 and Commodore 64. It ranges from challenging to punishingly difficult depending on the settings you choose, but it always results in that wonderful flow state that the old Sim games used to prioritize. Suffice to say, Banished is well worth the jilted Sim City fan’s time. All of this happens in a very lovely game world of trees and rocks and streams that is also brutal – when you see snow start to collect on the roofs of the wood and stone homes your exiles have built, you start getting nervous about whether you’ve supplied your woodcutter with enough material to keep everyone warm, and if you’ve collected enough hides… The choice and placement of each new structure demands careful consideration in the strain it places on your resources and the workers you can spare to extract them.

best video games 2014

It’s a wonderful return to basics, not just in concept but in practice. It’s just you and your plucky band of settlers trying to set up a settlement in the unforgiving wilderness. There is no “social” element to Banished, forcing you to connect with other players. Banished is the result of one such house’s work.

best video games 2014

While EA has been diligently trying to destroy every beloved old ‘90s franchise it’s been able to get its filthy mitts on, including SimCity – TWICE – there are companies out there who understand what made the original titles so delightful. It’s not on the list, but I have a strong suspicion it would be had I started it earlier in the year.Īll that said, here are the games of 2014 that I really, really loved. A friend bought me a copy of Divinity: Original Sin for Christmas, and after an hour of that I realized treating it fairly was going to require investing 60-100 hours into the game. There are a lot of games I wish I’d played this year and simply didn’t have time for. So Bayonetta 2, Mario Kart 8, and Super Smash Bros. This means that console-exclusive titles aren’t represented, which furthermore means that I’ve played nothing released by Nintendo during a year when the company has finally seen the WiiU come into its own.

#Best video games 2014 Pc#

Far Cry 4, Watch_Dogs, and Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare never had a chance.īeyond that, I don’t own any current-gen consoles – I opted instead to build myself a glorious PC gaming machine. The answer is very probably, “Because I didn’t play it.” The volume of video games released every year now makes it mathematically impossible to play all of them, even discounting time one needs to eat, sleep, and make jokes on Twitter.

best video games 2014

You may get to the end of this list and wonder why I haven’t included a perfectly excellent game in it. So here are the Best Games of 2014, according to me. Everyone who writes about games must create a top ten list at the end of every year (it’s part of our religion, which also dictates that we must qualify them as not being “authoritative”).















Best video games 2014